Jenn in Korea.

This is all about my EPIK teaching adventures in Korea!

That’s all folks!

Well… we did it! One year in a foreign country and we’re still in one piece. Which almost didn’t happen thanks to multiple recurring events. Such as the McDonald’s and pizza delivery scooters flying down the sidewalks. Not to mention the physically abusive ajjumas (old women). Or the elementary students aggressively chasing us through the streets taking our picture like the paparazzi. Or the wide open windows of the school’s 5th floor (yea- in a country with some of the highest suicide rates in the world, the windows on every level of the schools are wide open without bars or screens). Or the many creepy, moving food we closed our eyes and opened our mouth to. Or the intense roller coaster that is Korean’s public transit. Usually I turn that into a game. If I don’t fall over or into someone- I get points. If someone falls into me- I get angry, therefor lose points. If I don’t fly across the bus as I attempt to find a seat/ or get to the back door- I get points. And if I make it to my stop without embarrassing myself with any of the aforementioned incidents; I win. Lastly, if I give up my seat for an old person who looks kind and doesn’t guilt me into giving me their seat, I get bonus points. Its a tough game, but it masks the terrifying possibility that I just might not make it off the bus alive.

IMG_6695

IMG_6773Scott and I are pretty glad we had the chance to experience this. We learned a ton about Korean culture, learned to read the Korean language (hangul) and say a few things to get around. We got to teach some pretty cute kids about Canada and Engrish (although the recent test scores from my class might say otherwise). And we have met a lot of incredible people. Lastly, I have accomplished alllllmost everything on my Korean Bucket List. I’m pretty amazed at the amount of things we were able to do. Ihave a ridiculous amount of stories to tell, and I think I might end up coming back to the blog to write some of them down. If not, I hope to tell you when we are home.

Scott and I will be leaving Korea on Feburary 25th and heading to Bali, Australia and New Zealand before coming home at the end of March.Thank you to the family and friends for keeping tabs on us through my blog, email and facebook.

I have recently made a Flickr account to post all my pictures from the last year. Check them out- they look wayy better there, than on the blog.

Jenn’s Flickr Pictures     (Click on “albums” to see pictures organized by place)

See you very soon! Miss you guys a lot!
Jenn and Scott

IMG_6829 IMG_6799 IMG_6793 IMG_6841 IMG_6857             IMG_6502   10984459_10152824229314652_3664721974068653519_n  10984285_10152824229364652_2123781142588070150_n

4 comments on “That’s all folks!

  1. mom
    February 20, 2015

    Sounds like an awesome year of memories. More to come. Can’t wait to have you home. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous
    February 22, 2015

    looking forward to seeing you

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anonymous
    February 22, 2015

    anonymous is nana

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Paul
    February 23, 2015

    Well done! See you in Canada.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Navigation

Calendar

February 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

