Jenn in Korea.

This is all about my EPIK teaching adventures in Korea!

Sports day= 3 hours up the side of a mountain

I was informed that this past Friday was Sports Day at the school.  The school has yet to receive funding for this monthly event, so this month was a hike up a mountain just around the corner from the school.  The morning started with stretches out front of the school

IMG_0962

 We got about half way (an hour and a half) up the mountain when I saw a trail map. 11km.  11km !!! We actually didn’t complete the entire trail, since we had to use the same entrance to get back to the school.  So we turned around about half way on the trail… I’m still saying it was 11km.  It must have been damn close, because I have never been so exhausted hiking in my life.

 IMG_0965    IMG_0967

IMG_0973    IMG_0976

The kids were so cute. Trying to speak any kind of English to me they knew.  Asking me to play “Let it go” from the Frozen soundtrack on my phone. Asking what my favourite Korean food was. Asking if I love Korea. Asking if I was married… when I said I have a boyfriend and showed them pictures on my phone, they went crazy! Jumping up and down, singing, running, spinning in circles, and then a million more questions followed.  “Is he tall? Is he from Canada? Where is he now? Are you in love? Are you getting married? Is he handsome?” Suddenly, they all knew how to speak English. I’m not sure how that happened. My Co-teacher, Nara, and I also had a little fun with the camera.

Even though I couldn’t feel my legs afterwards, it was still an amazing day!

    IMG_0979

IMG_0984    IMG_0985

3 comments on “Sports day= 3 hours up the side of a mountain

  1. Mom
    March 31, 2014

    omg jenn – nice photo bomb – awesome pics – you look so happy 🙂 Next week cherry blossoms?

    Like

    • jennwignall
      March 31, 2014

      Yes!! We’re going to jinhae on a bus with other native teachers.

      Like

  2. Paul
    April 2, 2014

    Cherry Blossoms are going to be amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 30, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , .

Calendar

March 2014
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

